Peel Region homepage
Peel Region

Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC)

Improving opportunities and removing barriers for persons with disabilities in Peel

The Region of Peel Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) was established on May 29, 2003, in accordance with the requirements of the Ontarians with Disability Act, 2001 (ODA) and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA).

The AAC:

For more information email the Accessibility Planning Program.

Other information

The committee is comprised of 10 citizen members, the majority of whom have a disability, and 4 Members of Council, including the Regional Chair.

Members of the AAC serve a 4-year term or until their successors are appointed by Regional Council.

AAC members bring with them the desire to help those living with disabilities to build a society that allows for meaningful participation by persons of all abilities.

AAC Members

  • Regional Chair Iannicca (ex-officio)
  • Councillor Keenan
  • Councillor Mahoney
  • Councillor Russo

Community Members

  • Mohammed Ali
  • Michelle Bilek
  • Mary Daniel (Chair)
  • Cecille Gooding
  • Venkatraman Iyer
  • Azhar Karim
  • Kathleen Lynch
  • Angela Shaw
  • Priyanka Sheth
  • Kevin Wilson

Current members of the AAC are:

    Watch Accessibility Advisory Committee members describe what Community for Life means for them: